The world of maintenance 3.0

Jul 1, 2019

As cycling has grown in popularity, so has that of bike maintenance. And in order to ensure the safety and availability of its bike fleets, Vélogik equips its bike mechanics with all the latest technology.

What is smart maintenance?

All of a bike’s information can be collected via an open-source black box or recorded using the Vélocare® maintenance software.

The open-source black box is fitted to the bike either by the manufacturer or an operator, and automatically gathers all sorts of data regarding the condition of the bike and how it is being used. This information can serve to identify common types of faults or incidents, or even to fine tune the bike. For example, a user can adjust their use of the battery based on their daily commute.

Vélocare®, the bike maintenance software developed by Vélogik, logs the medical history of each bike, providing information on the:

  • Number of bikes available for rental, the rental duration & the percentage of bikes inoperational;
  • Characteristics of each bike;
  • Maintenance operations (requests, duration, type)

These smart solutions not only optimise how bike fleets are operated and managed, but also how they are maintained.

A major benefit for fleet managers: predictive maintenance

Using this data, Vélogik can unlock the potential of ‘predictive maintenance’, which allows for maintenance operations to be planned and scheduled ahead of time.

In addition to a more efficient schedule, smart maintenance helps lower costs by making it possible to pre-order spare parts. With Vélocare®, managers have direct access to their fleet’s data, enabling to them take decisions based on real-time, actionable information.

Thanks to the smart black box, they can locate their bikes via GPS and monitor how they are used and consequently adapt their service to precisely fit their customers’ needs.

Facilitating maintenance and the work of mechanics: optimised bike tracking and immediate curative maintenance

Vélocare® makes it easy to create a digital schedule for maintenance operations, allowing our mechanics to optimise their work by providing a simplified and improved overview of the tasks at hand. Each bike is assigned an ID number (via a QR code) that is used to trace its maintenance history, improving both maintenance tracking and quality. For example, if the mechanic looks at the data and notices a recurring manufacturing fault, they will be able to act before the problem occurs again and notify the manufacturer.

With smart bikes, some operations could even be performed remotely, such as disabling the electric battery when a bike is stolen.

These digital tools are revolutionising bicycle maintenance and make the life of both mechanics and fleet managers infinitely easier. Smart bikes will inevitably change our riding habits too. Smart technology is only in its infancy and Vélogik plans on keeping a close eye on its evolution.

Other news

How to improve bike parking to promote cycling

How to improve bike parking to promote cycling

When discussing how to promote cycling, we often talk about infrastructure such as ‘bike roads’ and incentive policies. Yet, something we rarely touch upon but that we believe is just as important is bike parking. Theft: a spoke in the wheel of cycling uptake 30...

VÉLOGIK CAMPUS: SHARING PASSION AND KNOWLEDGE

VÉLOGIK CAMPUS: SHARING PASSION AND KNOWLEDGE

Maintenance is too often overlooked when it comes to cycling projects and policies, despite it playing an essential role in keeping fleets reliable and cyclists safe.  In 2020, Vélogik decided to launch its maintenance campus to champion and promote new...

L’Univers de la maintenance 3.0

Juil 1, 2019

La maintenance vélo se développe parallèlement à la croissance de la mobilité cyclable. Afin d’assurer la sécurité des flottes de vélos et d’optimiser leur disponibilité, Vélogik se dote de technologies innovantes mises à disposition de ses techniciens cycles.

La maintenance connectée

Qu’est-ce que la maintenance connectée ?

Les données relatives à un vélo peuvent être collectées via un boîtier Open Source ou référencées par le logiciel de maintenance Vélocare®.

Le boîtier Open Source, est un boitier de dialogue avec la machine. Il est intégré au vélo soit par le fabricant, soit par un opérateur et relève automatiquement différentes informations liées au vélo et à son utilisation. Le traitement de ces données permet de déterminer des profils types de pannes ou incidents, ou même de perfectionner son usage du vélo. Par exemple, l’usager peut réguler l’utilisation de la batterie de son vélo à assistance électrique en fonction de son itinéraire habituel.

Vélocare®, le logiciel de maintenance vélo développé par Vélogik construit un historique, une « carte vitale » du vélo et référence entre autres :

  • Le nombre de vélo prêt à la location, la durée de location, le taux d’immobilisation d’une flotte de vélo…
  • Les caractéristiques de chaque vélo,
  • Les interventions (demandes, durée, types).

Ces solutions connectées permettent une optimisation des flottes de vélos mais aussi de leur maintenance.

Un atout pour les gestionnaires de flottes : La maintenance prédictive

Grâce à ces données, Vélogik peut appliquer ce qu’on appelle une maintenance prédictive. Il est ainsi possible de prévoir les prochaines interventions et leurs durées.

En plus d’un planning mieux géré, la maintenance connectée permet d’anticiper la commande des pièces à changer, soit des coûts moins élevés pour le gestionnaire de flotte. Via Vélocare®, le gestionnaire a accès aux données de son parc vélo ce qui lui permet d’agir en fonction de l’état de ce dernier.

Via le boitier connecté, il peut géolocaliser ses vélos et connaître l’usage qui en est fait et proposer une offre commerciale 100% adaptée aux besoins des clients.

Un atout pour le service de maintenance et les mainteneurs : un suivi des vélos optimisé et une maintenance curative immédiate

Vélocare® permet de mettre en œuvre un planning digital des interventions ; soit pour nos techniciens, un suivi simplifié et amélioré qui permet de bonnes conditions de travail. Chaque vélo est identifié par un numéro (via un QR code) permettant de tracer son historique de maintenance. Le suivi et la qualité de la maintenance sont donc améliorés. Si par exemple, le technicien cycles remarque un défaut de fabrication récurrent grâce aux statistiques, il est capable d’intervenir

avant que le problème survienne et en informe le constructeur.

Via le vélo connecté, certaines interventions pourraient être menées à distance, comme le blocage de l’assistance électrique en cas de vol du vélo.

Ces outils connectés transforment la maintenance cycle et facilitent aussi bien le métier de mainteneur cycle que celui de gestionnaire de flottes de vélos. Avec le vélo connecté, les usages vont également évoluer. La connectivité en est à ses débuts et Vélogik compte bien suivre cela de près.

Autres articles

La maintenance connectée pour un vélo fonctionnel

La maintenance connectée pour un vélo fonctionnel

En 2020, nous avons pu constater une montée en puissance de la mobilité cyclable. Chez Vélogik, nous souhaitons contribuer à pérenniser ce développement et faire en sorte que cette dynamique s’inscrive dans la durée. La maintenance est essentielle pour soutenir ce...

C.Vélo : clap de fin

C.Vélo : clap de fin

C’est avec fierté que Vélogik va céder sa place au nouvel exploitant choisi pour la gestion du service C.Vélo. Il n’est jamais simple de devoir laisser partir les talents qui ont fait depuis 2013 du service C.Vélo, le service le plus performant de France sur la...